Finding our comfort

May-You-Find-Comfort-9781594712449

I feel for those people whose lives are a mess . Not because I’ve experienced one but watching them grieve , listening to their cries moves my heart into praying that somehow God would lessen their pain. As I watch Ruby ( in a korean tv series), I can feel her pain, her struggle and difficulty in life. She never did well at school. Her boss reprimands her because of her low performance at work. She has a month notice that she and her siblings will be exiled to the place they are staying. No parents to depend on. No nearest kin of family to help her. But despite this tragedy in her life, she never gives up. She may have shed so many tears and was almost put to shame but these things made her strong and courageous. Her present situation mold her into a better person, from an irresponsible daughter into a parent to her younger siblings.

Is there a difficulty in your life that you almost gave in and cried for despair?

When I came back to work, without any objections from our direct supervising nurse, I took risk and said yes, when she assigned me at the Surgical-orthopedic ward. As I could remember, I was only exposed there for a few weeks as a trainee but never as a charged nurse. From handling neonates inside the ICU to adults as my new assignment, everything was new to me, new set of team member, new environment, different ward routine and a new experience.

It was almost a hell experience, on my first week of adjustment that I thought of cursing to be in that ward. I always missed meals at work loosing almost 5 kilos in just a month’s time. Sometimes I even barely had the chance to go the the comfort room to pea and would even come home very late. Stress is inescapable, as you attend to patients call, to left and right demands of the patient’s relative, late night schedule of operations, rounds and demands of doctors that sometimes your torn whom to attend first. And even the not so good encounters and events that happened. I would always come to work anxious and fearful. And if possible I wouldn’t want to create a single mistake as I handle lives.

But after a month, Yes ! It was a relief, all those sacrifices and experiences are worth learning. I have overcome and had survived. It wasn’t my strength and capability that I made it through. It was all because God was on my side.

When life gets hard on you, how do you handle it ? Do you easily get discouraged?

Life becomes meaningful and hopeful if we have Jesus. Wonder why a lot of people tries to commit suicide ? Its because they thought, that life isn’t good anymore and there’s no more reason to hang on it. They found no solution to their misery than to end their life. Yes, while we live in this world, trials will not cease to arise. We will always encounter disappointments, betrayal, disloyalty, discouragement and etc. But choosing to move on rather than staying defeated by life’s trial is a choice. We could be victorious if we allow Christ to work into our lives. Nothing is too hard for him that he couldn’t solve any problem.

(Jeremiah 32:17 : ‘Oh, Lord God, you did indeed make heaven and earth by your mighty power and great strength. Nothing is too hard for you!)

I’m not saying that if you trust Jesus there would be an instant solution to your problem. He’s not a magician whom you can ask what you wish and expect it right away. It doesn’t mean that when we accept the Lord as our Savior, we will no longer experience difficulty and testings. It doesn’t exempt us when become christians and followers of Christ but it is said that all the more trials will come our way. But amidst this truth, we can overcome because we have Jesus. We have him as our reason to live and continue on hoping.

When tough times come where do you run? When everybody else’s back turn against you,where or who do you depend on?

I hope you can find comfort in God. When everything seems heavy and burdensome, do not keep it within yourself. Lay it down and let God lighten your load. (Matthew 11:28-29

Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.

Take my yoke on you and learn from me, because I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.)

You may feel that the weight of the world is on you, remember God’s promise and may this verse comfort you:

The righteous may have many troubles but the Lord delivers him from them all. Psalm 34:19

Leave a comment